“Ted and Teena Go to a Country Fair” (Glendale Show)

Ted doesn't see Teena there

Ted doesn't see Teena there

Well I (Ted) have made it to England and what to you think my first big surprise was? My sister Teena stowed away in the artist’s field bag! “Hi Ted!” she waved down at me and I was so surprised.

Ted wants to drive

Ted wants to drive

The first thing we do is plan an outing to a real country fair in the countryside. I want to drive but as Teena points out, I’m really too short to reach the steering wheel, and my paws won’t reach the pedals on the floor. I guess she’s right so I’ll go and sit with her.

Looking out the window

Looking out the window

We sit and watch the scenery as it whizzes by…zoom, so fast.  In England people drive their cars on the left side of the road and the drivers seat is on the right side of the car. How do they drive in your country?

Cows

Cows

We saw cows on the green grassy hills and agree we like looking at all the different colors and patterns of cows; some looked like they were spattered with paint.

Ted + Teena ride together

Ted + Teena ride together

When we reached the fair, we decided to ride together in one little pouch in our artist friend’s field sketching kit.

A roan horse rides around the ring

A roan horse rides around the ring

When we’re there, we see all kinds of animals, but Teena’s favorites are the horses. Lots of kids are showing their horses in the ring.

Over the jump!

Over the jump!

“Wow, there’s a beautiful white pony with a very long mane and tail” says Teena. It was exciting to see the horses and riders go over the jumps and try not to knock the poles down.

All in a row

All in a row

Then the horses line up in a row to wait for the judges to look at them. Their riders have to get them to stand nice and still; look at how different their tails look.

Looks like our your girlfriend Ted

Looks like our your girlfriend Ted

“Oh there are so many dogs here!” I said, “almost everyone has a dog with them”. Teena teases me and says, “It looks like your girlfriend Ted!” haha!

A spotted pony

A spotted pony

Oh look at that, a spotted pony! He’s wearing a special halter on his face so he can pull a cart. There are patches behind his eyes so he won’t see the cart behind him and get scared of it. Teena says she wishes I would wear them sometimes so she could sneak up on me for tickles!

Wow, she won a blue ribbon

Wow, she won a blue ribbon

Here’s a picture of a girl that won a blue ribbon with her horse, they look great together. It takes a team of horse and rider to win a blue ribbon, they work together. She looks really happy.

Jacobs sheep

Jacobs sheep

Then Teena and I walked around and we saw all kinds of sheep. These are Jacob’s sheep with pretty black and white faces, horns and brown spots. I like the sheep and alpacas best.

I think he wants to eat us!

I think he wants to eat us!

Oh my! We walked into a tent and there was a display from a bird of prey centre, we saw this Barn Owl but I think he wanted to eat us. We quickly hid in our artist friends bag.

Talking by the window

Talking by the window

We were so tired on the drive home, but we sat next to each other and talked all about it. I can’t wait for our next adventure here in England!

Leave a comment